National Hockey League

Click here to see the NHL standings and click here to see ESPN

Around the same time I started playing baseball, I also started skiing. Thanks to my parents they took me to some very cool ski resorts early in my childhood. For example, I remember like yesterday learning how to ski in the Poconos, PA. From there we went to Seven Springs, Killington and then Vail, Sun Valley, etc.

Typically when I was not skiing folks would go ice skating. I tried many times but never learned how to successfully skate backwards. I probably had less fear learning how to roller blade backwards but still have a lot of trouble.

Thus, I always tell people that’s why I did not play hockey. In fact, I’m perhaps not alone when it comes to skating because until you try it, you don’t realize how difficult a sport it really it. More importantly, I would honestly say there are 3 things I typically look for when I tune into a hockey game live or on TV:

  • Fist fights
  • Fast moving play similar to soccer and lacrosse
  • Low scoring games

So, since this BLOG is designed to be not just about baseball, I thought I should include my first entry on the sport of hockey. I have 2 cousins that were fantastic hockey players. One of them actually was a professional and played for a Canadian team. I also have 3 nephews that all played hockey and were very good. Just like skiing, I learned it is a very expensive sport because of the equipment.

Above is the current standings of the TOP 10 teams in the National Hockey League. Interestingly enough, I just learned how it is divided with 31 teams. There are two (2)

Notice that besides winning the World Series last month, the Washington Capitals are the 2018 Stanley Cup Champions.

Leave a comment